ICC T20 World Cup: Pakistan announces 15-man squad, Babar gets command, Shoaib Malik-Sarfaraz out

The Pakistan Cricket Board has announced its 15-man squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup. Pakistan has also selected three reserve players in view of the Corona epidemic. For this big tournament to be held in UAE and Oman from next month, PCB has appointed Babar Azam as the captain of the team. Asif Ali and Khushdil Shah have returned to the team. While the most experienced players and former captains Shoaib Malik and Sarfaraz Ahmed have not been included in the squad. Let us tell you that this will be the first time that Pakistan team will play T20 World Cup without Shoaib Malik. Shoaib Malik has been a part of Pakistan’s team every time in this tournament which started from the year 2007.

Announcing the team on Monday, chief selector Muhammad Wasim said, “We have selected the players for the T20 World Cup keeping all the aspects in mind. On the inclusion of Asif and Khushdil in the team, Wasim said that both the players may not perform well but they are the best in the options available for selection and we hope that they will strengthen the middle order.

Wasim said, “Asif and Khushdil will give strength to Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Rizwan and Shoaib Maqsood in the middle order. We have three top spinners in Imad Wasim, Mohammad Nawaz and Shadab Khan who can also bat well.

Significantly, Pakistan has cut the cards of all-rounder Faheem Ashraf, former captain Sarfaraz Ahmed, opener Sharjeel Khan and fast bowler Arshad Iqbal. All of them were part of Pakistan’s team in the England and West Indies series.

Usman Qadir, opener Fakhar Zaman and fast bowler Shahnawaz Dahani will travel to UAE as reserve players.

Pakistan team
Babar Azam (capt), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Imad Wasim, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Wasim Jr., Asif Ali, Mohammad Hafeez, Shaheen Afrid, Azam Khan, Mohammad Hasnain, Sohaib Maqsood, Haris Rauf, Mohd. Nawaz and Hassan Ali.

Reserve players:
Fakhar Zaman, Shahnawaz Dahni and Usman Qadir


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here