IPL: All hat-tricks taken so far in the tournament and interesting statistics related to them

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) pacer Harshal Patel scored a hat-trick against Mumbai Indians (MI) on Sunday night. Patel gave his team an important victory with excellent bowling.
He got the wickets of Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard and Rahul Chahar in three consecutive balls.
A total of 19 hat-tricks have been taken since the first season of IPL. So, let’s take a look at all those hat-tricks and some interesting statistics related to them.

Three hat-tricks in the first season itself

In the first season of IPL held in 2008, three bowlers had achieved hat-tricks.
Lakshmipathy Balaji was the first bowler to take a hat-trick in IPL, taking a hat-trick against KXIP while playing for CSK.
Amit Mishra took the second hat-trick of the first season against Deccan Chargers while playing for Delhi Daredevils.
The third hat-trick of the 2008 season was taken by Makhaya Antony for Chennai against Kolkata Knight Riders.

Yuvraj made history in 2009

Yuvraj Singh, playing for KXIP, took the first hat-trick of the 2009 season against RCB.
After this, Rohit Sharma, who was an important member of Deccan Chargers, surprised everyone by taking a hat-trick against MI.
Even before the noise of these two hat-tricks subsided, Yuvraj once again showed his flair. Yuvraj scored his second hat-trick of the 2009 season against Deccan Chargers..

1-1 hat-trick in 2010, 2011 and 2012

The only hat-trick of the 2010 season was played by Praveen Kumar, playing for RCB, against Rajasthan Royals.
In the 2011 season, Amit Mishra once again showed his class and scored a hat-trick against KXIP while playing for Deccan Chargers.
Former Rajasthan Royals player Ajit Chandila, who was caught in the match-fixing scandal, scored the only hat-trick of the 2012 season.
Chandila achieved this feat against Pune Warriors India.

Two hat-tricks in 2013

In the 2013 season, once again two bowlers got hat-tricks. West Indies spin bowler Sunil Narine got the first hat-trick of the season.
Naren got his first IPL hat-trick against KXIP while playing for KKR.
Amit Mishra, playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad, achieved the second hat-trick of the 2013 season. Mishra achieved this feat against Pune Warriors India.

Amit Mishra is the only player to take hat-trick for three teams

Amit Mishra has taken the maximum three hat-tricks in IPL and he has taken all three hat-tricks for different teams. Mishra, who took hat-trick for Delhi, Hyderabad and Deccan Chargers, is the only bowler to take hat-trick for three teams.

Tambe became the oldest bowler to take hat-trick

The first hat-trick in the IPL held in 2014 was taken by leg-spinner Pravin Tambe, who played for Rajasthan.
Tambe had achieved a hat-trick against KKR and is the oldest (42+ years) player in IPL history to take a hat-trick.
Shane Watson of Rajasthan also achieved a hat-trick in the same season and for the second time it happened that two hat-tricks were taken for the same team.

Three hat-tricks in 2017

The first hat-trick in IPL 2017 was taken by West Indies leg-spinner Samuel Badree against Mumbai Indians while playing for RCB.
After this, Australian fast bowler Andrew Tye, playing for Gujarat Lions, took the second hat-trick of IPL 2017 against Rising Pune Supergiants.
While playing for Rising Pune, fast bowler Jaydev Unadkat took the third hat-trick of the 2017 season against Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Some interesting statistics related to IPL hat-trick

Only 2015, 2018 and 2020 were the seasons in which none of the bowlers managed to take a hat-trick.
The bowlers of KXIP have taken hat-tricks in IPL for the maximum four times, while hat-tricks have been made against KXIP only three times in IPL.
Sam Curran, who took a hat-trick at the age of 20, is the youngest bowler to take an IPL hat-trick. Out of 19, 11 hat-tricks have been taken by spinners and eight fast bowlers.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here